Research Project 2

Winckelmann. Modern Antiquity

Anniversary exhibition commemorating the 300th birthday of Johann Joachim Winckelmann
Neues Museum, Weimar
7 April – 2 July 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Johann Joachim Winckelmann (1717 – 1768) was a giant of his age; he was the founder of modern art history and archaeology and a pioneer of German classicism. He made a contribution to the history of ideas and culture in Europe that few could rival. This December marks the 300th anniversary of Winckelmann’s birth. To celebrate the occasion, from 7 April to 2 July 2017, the Alexander von Humboldt Chair for Modern Written Culture and European Knowledge Transfer at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, together with the Klassik Stiftung Weimar, will host the world’s first major exhibition on Winckelmann. The organisers plan to reconstruct the most important aspects of his life as a scholar over an exhibition area of more than 1,000 square metres and with more than 200 exhibit items. The exhibition will be accompanied by a comprehensive academic program in Weimar and Halle.

The first part of the exhibition presents a loose chronology of the multifaceted genesis of Winckelmann’s work, spanning tradition and innovation. Under the keywords ‘reading’, ‘seeing’ and ‘touching’, the exhibition presents Winckelmann’s at first mostly textual and then increasingly sensory engagement with antiquity in Dresden, Rome and Florence. The second part of the exhibition examines the many avenues of inquiry that Winckelmann opened up and their productivity in the later artistic, scientific and socio-political debates of the 19th and 20th centuries. The projective character that characterised Winckelmann’s conception of classical art has also framed the way modernity has engaged with him and with his ideas. The exhibition illustrates this with the three themes of ‘aesthetics’, ‘anthropology’ and ‘politics’, which exemplify affirmative and critical engagements with Winckelmann in modernity.

back to top

Extra muros – an international classicist

Winckelmann’s threefold reputation as the father of modern art history and archaeology, as the champion of Greek beauty and as a linguistic genius, quickly earned him the status of a “great thinker” in German literary, cultural and art history. His speech about the “noble simplicity and quiet grandeur” of Greek-antique art made a particular contribution to his reputation and over time became the basic formula of classical aesthetics in Germany.

The exhibition Winckelmann. Modern antiquity will not limit itself to Winckelmann’s reputation within Germany. The exhibition also explores the international orientation and influence of his work. Winckelmann, who was born into humble origins as the son of a cobbler, spent the first three decades of his life in the German provinces before coming to Dresden – a place where antiquity was noticeably absent and baroque exuberance even more pronounced. At the age of 38, he moved to Rome where, supported in his endeavours by worldly Roman prelates, he became one of the most sought-after city guides and he associated with nobles from all over Europe. He established here a wide network of correspondents from Italy, France, England and other countries. Without this European network, the impressive dimensions of which are presented in the exhibition, it would have been unlikely that international reception of Winckelmann’s work would have been so far-reaching. Winckelmann is without doubt one of the most prominent, and perhaps even one of the first German-speaking writers of the modern period, who was read and received with great attention throughout Europe. With Winckelmann, German-language literature escaped the confines of germanophone Europe and became an export product.

back to top

Beyond disciplinary boundaries

Winckelmann’s work transcended boundaries in a further sense: Winckelmann was received widely not only across cultural and linguistic boundaries, but also across disciplinary boundaries that became more sharply defined and increasingly exclusive in the nineteenth century. These interdisciplinary aspects of Winckelmann’s work are not given short shrift in the exhibition. We can trace their origin back to the specific kind of questions that Winckelmann raised throughout his work, from his first publication Thoughts on the Imitation of Greek Works in Painting and the Art of Sculpture (1755), to his great historical work, History of the Art of Antiquity (1764). Is art in fact capable of development? What paradigms may we make use of to write its story? Are all peoples able to produce “beautiful” art? Wherein lies the specificity of Greek culture? If Winckelmann’s work could have such a multifarious effect, it was because it was unique in trying to answer these questions – questions with which, in addition to art history and archaeology, stricto sensu also anthropology, ethnology, natural history, the history of science and the political discourse, saw themselves in conflict. A series of exhibits illustrate various subject areas that have become entwined and influenced by Winckelmann’s thoughts about art.

back to top

Ambivalent Aesthetic – Aesthetic of Ambivalence

Winckelmann resists easy classification as a thinker in a third sense: contrary to the widely-held view that his thoughts about art are unified around the credo of “noble simplicity and quiet grandeur”, they in fact overcome the limitations of the classic doctrine to which his thought is often still today reduced. This reductive tendency was particularly common during the period of Weimar classicism, when his advocates canonised a narrow image of Winckelmann that served their purposes. Only a short time after the publication of his writings, Winckelmann was declared a hero of an aesthetic that lauded harmonic proportions, moderation of expression, and tranquillity as the epitome of the beautiful. If one holds up this interpretative tradition, however, against a precise reading of his writings, approaches emerge in Winckelmann’s work that cannot be assigned readily to the maxims of German classicism. We find an emphasis on movement, expression, passion, pathos, for that matter corporeality in its very infirmity – the detailed description of the “muscle” and the “fleshiness” of the amputated Torso vom Belevedere springs to mind. – These are not only not foreign to the Winckelmannian conception of artistic beauty, but strictly speaking, they are indispensable elements of that conception. An important objective of the exhibition is to show, therefore, the fundamental ambiguity of Winckelmann’s aesthetic approaches and their productivity for the work of subsequent artists. Contrary to how a long tradition has perceived Winckelmann’s originality, it does not consist, in fact, in the formulation of a tight catalogue of rigorous doctrines on classicism, but rather in the fascinating combination of often-contradictory approaches that have enabled and continue to enable a variety of interpretations.

The exhibition is flanked by a diverse array of academic and educational opportunities. The extensive exhibition catalogue is particularly significant. This will serve as a reference for Winckelmannian research beyond the duration of the exhibition. In addition to the guided tours to be given by curators, a comprehensive audio guide will grant visitors deeper insight into the exhibition. There is an academic program accompanying the exhibition consisting of a lecture series in Halle and Weimar, and a scientific conference, as well as a students’ conference where students will discuss the concept of beauty.

back to top

An advisory board and a working group were established for the scientific monitoring of the research and exhibition project.

Members of the advisory board:

Prof. Dr. Adolf Heinrich Borbein (Berlin)
Dr. Kordelia Knoll (Dresden, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen)
Prof. Dr. Daniel Fulda (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Gaehtgens (Los Angeles, Getty Research Institute)
Prof. Dr. Luca Giuliani (Berlin, Wissenschaftskolleg)
Prof. Dr. Max Kunze (Berlin/Stendal, Winckelmann-Gesellschaft)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Lehmann (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Prof. Dr. Ernst Osterkamp (Berlin, Humboldt-Universität)
Prof. Dr. Helmut Pfotenhauer (Würzburg)
Prof. Dr. Steffi Roettgen (München)
Prof. Dr. Sabine Schneider (Universität Zürich)
Dr. Wolfgang von Wangenheim (Berlin)

Members of the working group:

Dr. Martin Disselkamp (Berlin, BBAW)
Dr. Astrid Fendt (München, Glyptothek)
Prof. Dr. Christoph Frank (Mendrisio, Università della Svizzera)
Dr. Daniel Graepler (Universität Göttingen)
Dr. Christiane Holm (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Dr. Charlotte Kurbjuhn (Berlin, Humboldt-Universität)
Dr. Johannes Rössler (Universität Bern)
Dr. Alexander Rosenbaum (Weimar, Klassik Stiftung)
Dr. Christoph Schmälzle (Berlin, Freie Universität)
Dr. Esther Sophia Sünderhauf (München, Stadtmuseum)
Dr. Bettina Werche (Weimar, Klassik Stiftung)

back to top

Exhibition dates

»Winckelmann. Modern Antiquity«

Anniversary exhibition commemorating the 300th birthday of Johann Joachim Winckelmann organised by the Alexander von Humboldt Chair for Modern Written Culture and European Knowledge Transfer at the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, together with the Klassik Stiftung Weimar. Sponsored by the Cultural Foundation of the German Federal States, the Ernst von Siemens Art Foundation and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

From 7 April to 2 July 2017 | Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun 10 am to 6 pm | Thu 12 noon to 8 pm

Neues Museum Weimar
Weimarplatz 5 | D-99423 Weimar

Information for visitors:

Klassik Stiftung Weimar
Frauentorstraße 4
D-99423 Weimar
Phone: +49 (0) 3643-545-400

back to top

Follow-up project to the exhibition

The exhibition Winckelmann. Modern Antiquity will segue into a follow-up project under the auspices of the Humboldt chair entitled Enlightenment, Classicism and Classics. The themes of this project will be more broadly conceived and will showcase, among other things, the individual research interests of the curators of the exhibition. The present exhibition is a starting point for investigating different, sometimes contradictory conceptions of the classical world as we encounter them in affirmative or critical reception of Winckelmann’s work. The follow-up project in turn aims to investigate the concepts of the Enlightenment, Classicism and Classics as historical constructs and, at the same time, the meaning of these concepts as retrospectively understood in the long eighteenth century. The follow-up project will examine in particular how divergent conceptual traditions emerged in different countries in Europe at different times.

Project leader: Prof Dr. Elisabeth Décultot
Project team: Dr. Martin Dönike; Dr. des. Claudia Keller; Denis Stante M.A.
Project timeframe: 01.02.2015 – 31.01.2020

Contact: Dr. Martin Dönike
E-Mail: martin.doenike@germanistik.uni-halle.de
Telephone: +49 (0)345 55 21786 / +49 (0)345 55 23577

Projekt 2

Winckelmann. Moderne Antike

Jubiläumsausstellung zum 300. Geburtstag Johann Joachim Winckelmanns
Neues Museum, Weimar
7. April – 2. Juli 2017
Zusammenarbeit mit der Klassik Stiftung Weimar

Kuratoren: Elisabeth Décultot, Martin Dönike, Wolfgang Holler, Claudia Keller, Torsten Valk, Bettina Werche

Pressespiegel

Ausstellungskatalog:

Begründer der modernen Kunstgeschichte und Archäologie, Wegbereiter des deutschen Klassizismus und Virtuose der Kunstbeschreibung – Johann Joachim Winckelmann (1717 – 1768) prägte die europäische Ideen- und Kulturgeschichte wie kaum ein anderer. Im Dezember dieses Jahres wäre der gebürtige Stendaler 300 Jahre alt geworden. Zu diesem Anlass widmen ihm die Humboldt-Professur für neuzeitliche Schriftkultur und europäischen Wissenstransfer der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg und die Klassik Stiftung Weimar vom 7. April bis 2. Juli 2017 die weltweit erste große Ausstellung. Im Neuen Museum Weimar rekonstruieren die Veranstalter auf über 1.000 Quadratmetern und mit mehr als 200 Exponaten die wichtigsten Aspekte seines Werdegangs und zeichnen seine bis ins 20. Jahrhundert hinein spürbare Wirkung nach.

In einer lockeren Chronologie widmet sich der erste Teil der Ausstellung der vielschichtigen Genese von Winckelmanns Werk zwischen Tradition und Innovation. Mittels der Stichworte ›Lesen‹, ›Sehen‹ und ›Anfassen‹ werden die anfangs vornehmlich textuellen und dann zunehmend sinnlichen Grundlagen von Winckelmanns Zugang zur Antike in Dresden, Rom und Florenz gezeigt. Der zweite Teil erörtert die Produktivität der von Winckelmann aufgeworfenen Fragen in den künstlerischen, wissenschaftlichen und gesellschaftspolitischen Debatten des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. Der projektive Charakter, der bereits Winckelmanns Blick auf die Kunst der Antike kennzeichnet, ist auch für den Umgang der Moderne mit Winckelmann und seinen Ideen bestimmend. Anschaulich gemacht wird dies mit Blick auf die drei Themenbereiche ›Ästhetik‹, ›Anthropologie‹ und ›Politik‹, die exemplarisch für die sowohl affirmative als auch kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Winckelmann in der Moderne stehen.

Seitenanfang

Extra muros – ein internationaler Klassiker

Sein dreifacher Ruf als Vater der modernen Kunstgeschichte und Archäologie, als Heros der griechischen Schönheit und als Sprachkünstler verlieh Winckelmann rasch den Rang eines ›Klassikers‹ der deutschen Literatur-, Kultur- und Kunstgeschichte. Insbesondere seine Rede von der »edlen Einfalt und stillen Größe« griechisch-antiker Kunst entwickelte sich zur Grundformel der klassischen Ästhetik in Deutschland.

Bei diesem Winckelmann-Bild nationalen Zuschnitts will die Ausstellung »Winckelmann. Moderne Antike« jedoch nicht stehen bleiben. In den Blick genommen wird ausdrücklich auch die internationale Ausrichtung und Ausstrahlung seines Wirkens: Nach langen Jahren in der deutschen Provinz und einer kurzen Zeit in der Residenzstadt Dresden – einem Ort, an dem die Antike bezeichnenderweise kaum präsent, dafür der barocke Überschwang umso prägender war – kam der aus eher einfachen Verhältnissen stammende Schustersohn mit 38 Jahren nach Rom, wo er, von weltgewandten Prälaten unterstützt, zu einem der gefragtesten Romführer avancierte, mit Adligen aus ganz Europa verkehrte und ein breit gefächertes Netz von Korrespondenten aus Italien, Frankreich, England und weiteren Ländern aufbaute. Ohne dieses europäische Netzwerk, von dessen Dimension die Ausstellung ein beeindruckendes Abbild gibt, hätte die internationale Rezeption seines Werks kaum jene Ausmaße erreicht, wie sie sich uns heute darbieten. Tatsächlich ist Winckelmann einer der prominentesten, und vielleicht auch einer der ersten deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller der Moderne überhaupt, die schon zeit ihres Lebens in ganz Europa mit großer Aufmerksamkeit gelesen und rezipiert wurden. Mit ihm verlässt die deutschsprachige Literatur ihre angestammte Heimat und wird zum Exportprodukt.

Seitenanfang

Jenseits der Disziplingrenzen

Grenzüberschreitend war seine Wirkungskraft aber noch in einem anderen Sinne: Winckelmann wurde nicht nur fernab der Sprach- und Kultur-, sondern auch fernab der Disziplingrenzen rezipiert, wie sie das 19. Jahrhundert mit zunehmender Intensität und Ausschließlichkeit herausbildete. Auch diese Grenzgänge sollen in der Ausstellung nicht zu kurz kommen. Woher aber diese disziplinübergreifende Anschlussfähigkeit Winckelmanns rührt, erklärt sich aus der spezifischen Natur der Fragen, die Winckelmann von seiner Erstlingsschrift, den Gedanken über die Nachahmung der griechischen Werke (1755), bis hin zu seinem großen Geschichtswerk, der Geschichte der Kunst des Altertums (1764), aufgeworfen hat. Ist Kunst einer Entwicklung überhaupt fähig? Anhand welcher Modelle lässt sich ihre Geschichte schreiben? Sind alle Völker imstande, ›schöne‹ Kunst hervorzubringen? Worin besteht die Spezifität der griechischen Kultur? – Wenn sein Werk eine so vielfältige Wirkung entfalten konnte, dann deshalb, weil es wie kein anderes Antworten auf diese Fragen zu geben versuchte – Fragen, mit denen sich neben der Kunstgeschichte und der Archäologie stricto sensu auch die Anthropologie, die Ethnologie, die Naturgeschichte, die Geschichtswissenschaft und der politische Diskurs konfrontiert sahen. Über eine Reihe von Ausstellungsexponaten werden die vielfältigen Bereiche, mit denen Winckelmanns Kunstdenken verflochten ist und auf die es eingewirkt hat, vor Augen geführt.

Seitenanfang

Ambivalente Ästhetik – Ästhetik der Ambivalenz

Nicht auf einen einfachen Nenner zu bringen ist Winckelmann schließlich auch in einem dritten Sinne: Entgegen der landläufigen Vereinseitigung seiner Position auf das Credo der »edlen Einfalt und stillen Größe« überwindet sein Kunstdenken die Schranken der klassischen Lehre, auf die es – ganz besonders im Zuge der Vorstellungen der Weimarer Klassik, die maßgeblich mit der Kanonisierung eines nach eigenen Bedürfnissen zugeschnittenen  Winckelmann-Bildes zusammenfällt – heute noch oft genug reduziert wird. Bereits früh nach der Publikation seiner Schriften avancierte Winckelmann zum Heros einer Ästhetik, die harmonische Proportionen, Mäßigung des Ausdrucks und Ruhe zum Inbegriff des Schönen erklärte. Hält man dieser Deutungstradition jedoch eine genaue Lektüre seiner Schriften entgegen, so kommen Ansätze zum Vorschein, die sich nicht ohne Weiteres in die Maximen der deutschen Klassik einordnen lassen: Bewegung, Ausdruck, Leidenschaft, Pathos, ja die schiere Leiblichkeit in ihrer Versehrtheit – man denke nur an seine detailversessene Beschreibung der »Muskel« und der »Fleischigkeit« des amputierten Torso vom Belvedere – sind dem Winckelmannschen Begriff des Kunstschönen nicht nur nicht fremd, sondern genau genommen unerläßliche Bestandteile desselben. Ein wichtiges Anliegen der Ausstellung ist es daher, die grundlegende Ambivalenz von Winckelmanns ästhetischen Ansätzen und deren Produktivität für die Arbeit nachfolgender Künstler zu zeigen. Anders als eine lange Tradition es bisher hat sehen wollen, besteht Winckelmanns Originalität nicht in der Formulierung eines straffen Katalogs schlüssiger klassizistischer Lehrmeinungen, sondern in der faszinierenden Kombination von oft widersprüchlichen Denkansätzen, die vielfältige Deutungen möglich gemacht haben und immer noch ermöglichen.

Die Ausstellung wird von einem vielfältigen Vermittlungs- und Vertiefungsangebot flankiert. Eine besondere Bedeutung kommt dem umfangreichen Katalog zu, der der Winckelmann-Forschung über die Ausstellung hinaus als Referenzwerk dienen wird. Neben Themenführungen von Kuratoren wird den Besuchern ein umfassender Audioguide vertiefte Einblicke in die Schau gewähren. Das Rahmenprogramm umfasst Vortragsreihen in Halle und Weimar, eine wissenschaftliche Tagung sowie eine Schülertagung, in der sich Schülerinnen und Schüler mit dem Thema Schönheit auseinandersetzen.

Seitenanfang

Ausstellungsdaten

»Winckelmann. Moderne Antike«

Jubiläumsausstellung der Humboldt-Professur für neuzeitliche Schriftkultur und europäischen Wissenstransfer der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg und der Klassik Stiftung Weimar zum 300. Geburtstag Johann Joachim Winckelmanns. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung der Länder, die Ernst von Siemens-Kunststiftung und die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung.

Vom 7. April bis 2. Juli 2017 | Di, Mi, Fr, Sa, So 10 bis 18 Uhr | Do 12 bis 20 Uhr

Neues Museum Weimar
Weimarplatz 5 | 99423 Weimar

Besucherinformation
Rahmenprogramm

Seitenanfang

 

Zur wissenschaftlichen Vorbereitung und Begleitung des Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekts wurden ein Fachbeirat sowie ein Arbeitskreis eingerichtet.

Mitglieder des Fachbeirates:

Prof. Dr. Adolf Heinrich Borbein (Berlin)
Dr. Kordelia Knoll (Dresden, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen)
Prof. Dr. Daniel Fulda (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Gaehtgens (Los Angeles, Getty Research Institute)
Prof. Dr. Luca Giuliani (Berlin, Wissenschaftskolleg)
Prof. Dr. Max Kunze (Berlin/Stendal, Winckelmann-Gesellschaft)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Lehmann (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Prof. Dr. Ernst Osterkamp (Berlin, Humboldt-Universität)
Prof. Dr. Helmut Pfotenhauer (Würzburg)
Prof. Dr. Steffi Roettgen (München)
Prof. Dr. Sabine Schneider (Universität Zürich)
Dr. Wolfgang von Wangenheim (Berlin)

Mitglieder des Arbeitskreises:

Dr. Martin Disselkamp (Berlin, BBAW)
Dr. Astrid Fendt (München, Glyptothek)
Prof. Dr. Christoph Frank (Mendrisio, Universitá della Svizzera)
Dr. Daniel Graepler (Universität Göttingen)
Dr. Christiane Holm (Universität Halle-Wittenberg)
Dr. Charlotte Kurbjuhn (Berlin, Humboldt-Universität)
Dr. Johannes Rössler (Universität Bern)
Dr. Alexander Rosenbaum (Weimar, Klassik Stiftung)
Dr. Christoph Schmälzle (Berlin, Freie Universität)
Dr. Esther Sophia Sünderhauf (München, Stadtmuseum)
Dr. Bettina Werche (Weimar, Klassik Stiftung)

Ausblick: Folgeprojekt zur Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung »Winckelmann. Moderne Antike« bildet den Auftakt zu einem Projekt – thematisch breiter aufgestellt unter dem Titel Aufklärung, Klassizismus und Klassik –, das im Rahmen der Humboldt-Professur u. a. auch von den Kuratoren der Ausstellung mit jeweils eigenen Forschungsfragen weiterbetrieben wird. Wenn bereits im Zusammenhang der Schau die unterschiedlichen, mitunter widersprüchlichen Vorstellungen des Klassischen in Anlehnung oder Kritik an Winckelmann thematisch wurden, so setzt sich das Folgeprojekt zum Ziel, die Epochenbegriffe Aufklärung, Klassizismus und Klassik als historische Konstruktionen zu untersuchen und dabei nach ihrer Bedeutung für das retrospektive Verständnis des langen 18. Jahrhunderts zu fragen. Bei der Rekonstruktion der begriffs- und wissenschaftsgeschichtlichen Kontexte sollen insbesondere die international divergierenden Begriffstraditionen sowie die historischen Ungleichzeitigkeiten in Europa berücksichtigt werden.

Projektleiter: Prof Dr. Elisabeth Décultot
Projektbearbeiter: Dr. Martin Dönike; Dr. des. Claudia Keller; Denis Stante M.A.
Laufzeit des Projekts: 01.02.2015 – 31.01.2020

Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Décultot
E-Mail: elisabeth.decultot@germanistik.uni-halle.de
Telefon: +49 (0)345 55 21786 / +49 (0)345 55 23577